Hi everyone!

My name is Persis Shirazi and I live in San Ramon (an East Bay suburb, for those of you who don’t know). I’m actually very big on traveling, and have had the opportunity to view my fair share of the world thus far in my life; however, I have yet to visit South America, and am definitely looking forward to this trip.

I’m a Visitor Services volunteer at San Francisco’s Asian Art Museum, so you can often find me there on weekends throughout the year! Believe it or not, I’m not too fond of art, but I love history (particularly world history), so the museum is a good fit for me. Aside from that, I’m a huuuuge foodie and an avid Yelper – one of my myriad goals is to become an Elite Yelper before I graduate high school. I also have a Bay Area Restaurant Bucket List that I am hoping to “eat” my way through in the next year or so as well. I also have a cat, whose name is Apple, and she is an integral part of my life – that might even be an understatement. For context, her tenth birthday was last month and I hosted a birthday party solely for her (yes, I threw a birthday party for my cat).

I suppose that kind of leads into the next question: if I could be an animal, I would want to be a cat, I think – their lives seem pretty relaxed and sanitary (compared to dogs).

There are so many things that I am excited about for this trip, but as generic as it may sound, I feel that I am most excited about the new bonds that will develop amongst us all during the trip. I love meeting new people, and upon meeting me, you will all quickly realize that I am an incredibly sociable (and talkative) person, and I truly do look forward to learning more about each and every one of the people on this trip (including those of you that I am already classmates with).

I will refrain from sending a photo, however please do not hesitate to add me on Facebook/other social media sites!


Persis Shirazi